Australian Open 2016 live stream

Watch Australian Open and follow the big showdown at the Rod Laver Arena Down Under.

Christmas and New Years is over and it´s time to focus on some amazing tennis. Luckily you don´t have to wait long since The Australian Open 2016 kicks off January 18th  and we provide the live streaming. We are all looking forward to see the great players battling for the title at the Rod Laver Arena and obviously the two winners from 2015, Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams, are the favorites. But the Serb will have to fight against Andy Murray, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Stan Wawrinka while Williams faces tough competition from Maria Sharapova, Simona Halep, Petra Kvotiva and sister Venus Willams.
Watch it all with live streaming here!




About Australian Open

The tennis season kicks off when the Australian Open starts in mid-January, at the Rod Laver Arena. It is the year’s first Grand Slam tournament, and perhaps not the most prestigious of the four Grand Slam. However, it’s a tournament that marks the start of a genuine grand slam. The best players dream of taking every Grand Slam in a year and a loss at the Australian Open ruins those dreams directly.

Off to a good start

All that christmas fat is being burned, the hangover from New Year’s Eve has passed and that means that you are now ready for the year’s first major Grand slam in tennis. Tennis pros are starting a new season and kick start directly with the year’s first Grand Slam. Australian Open is an intense tournament because it takes place during the hottest months in Australia. On the women’s side it becomes increasingly uncertain about who will be the big winner. Serena Williams is no longer unchallenged, there are several names that will fight. Even though Serena Williams won over Sharapova in the 2015 finals, next year, several players such as Simona Halep, Petra Kvitova, Agniezka Radwanska, Ana Ivanovic have taken a step further and Serena is not getting any younger. On the men’s Australian Open there is of course “The Fab Four”; Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray and Roger Federer who receive the largest spotlights. But even there, some players managed to sneak themselves like Stanislas Wawrinka who won the Australian Open in 2014. Novak Djokovic won the 2015 title and he dreams of course to make a real grand slam.

Not easy being down under

Today, it’s really easy give-away that the Australian Open is played in Melbourne, but it has not always been this way. When the tournament started in 1905 only men participated, while women came into the tournament by 1922. The tournament has been played in many different cities and in different stadiums over the time. It was only in 1987 that it was decided that it would always be held in Melbourne during January. The choice was mainly due to it’s geographical location. Before planes became the main long distance travel method, it would take months to sail down to Australia. It was only when names like Mats Wilander, Ivan Lendl and John McEnroe chose to participate in the 1983 tournament that it became popular.

You must fight for the title

Quite often it is great favourites that win tournaments such as Wimbledon or Roland Garros. But in Australian Open you can easily find a new champion every year, since the introduction of professional players in 1969, there has been a pretty rough competition for the trophy. Andre Agassi, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic are the players with the most wins within men’s tournaments with four championships. Agassi’s game is actually quite impressive as he won his first tournament in 1995 and the last in 2003. Even more wild is to see the legend Ken RoseWells achievements. In 1953, he was the youngest winner at age 18, all the while he was also the oldest champion at age 37 years in 1972. For women, Serena Williams, who still tops the charts with her five victories, but nevertheless you need to go back to 2010 to find the last triumph.

The Masters

Naturally, all participants want to begin the season with a Grand Slam title and a nice prize check, in addition to holding the Norman Brookes trophy or, for the women’s side, the Daphne Akhurst trophy. They are both named after legendary Australian tennis players. But only a few have had an actual chance of winning. In 2013 the Serbian Novak Djokovic wrote history and was claimed as one of the greatest of all time, when he was the defending champion and won the tournament for the fourth time. In 2015 he was also impressive when he won his fifth Australian Open. For the women, it has been a bit smoother, though Serena Williams has won the title six times.


Stadium: Melbourne Park
Location: Olympic Blvd, Melbourne VIC 3001, Australia
Surface: Hardcourt
Dates: 19. januar – 1. februar
Website: Australian Open
Category: Grand Slam tennis
Who we think will win: Novak Djokovic, Caroline Wozniacki

Winners in Men's Single

Winner 2015: Novak Djokovic
Winner 2014: Stanislas Wawrinka
Winner 2013: Novak Djokovic
Winner 2012: Novak Djokovic

Winners in Women's Single

Winner 2015: Serena Williams
Winner 2014: Li Na
Winner 2013: Viktoria Azarenka
Winner 2012: Viktoria Azarenka